I have writer’s block….I don’t feel like it……

by Chris Bass, Director of Author Marketing Services
I have a raggedy yellow piece of paper that my father gave me about 30 years ago.  Written on it are these words, “Nothing great was ever accomplished without discipline.”

Today you might be feeling full of excuses about why you can’t write, why people aren’t reading your book, why you can’t come up with anything worthwhile to say in your blog.  You have a choice to make.  You can listen to the excuses or you can get busy about doing something great.

Stay disciplined even when you don’t feel like it. Experience tells me that in the long run you’ll find you’re doing great things.

4 responses to “I have writer’s block….I don’t feel like it……

  1. Beverley Jackson

    Discipline is the whole answer. To much of what is important in life! This comes from an 82 year old who learned it young. Sadly I encounter a great many whining fifyish Boomers who would be whining a lot less if they had discipline. I didn’t write my first book until I was in my late sixties — the book Splendid Slippers, the most complete book on the subject of Chinese footbinding in the English language was first published in 1998 and has just been reprinted for 6th time in 2011 by Random House. And four other books have been published since 1998 and a new one is on the way. Discipline. Sit down in a chair and write something every day. Even if it is something later discarded write something every day!

  2. Dear Beverley,

    “….write something every day!” Amen Beverley, amen! Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

    AuthorHive Marketing & Publicity Team

  3. Excellent advice from the AuthorHive team, I love what you guys are doing with Book Bzzz. I’ll share the link with my author friends.

    • Hi Krista,
      Thank you for your kind words! Keep reading and thanks for sharing our link. We love hearing from authors and encourage you to share your own experiences.

      Shelley Rogers Landes
      Author Hive Marketing Manager

Leave a Reply

